Thursday, 11 April 2013

Super Overs and Tied Matches in IPL

There have been only 4 matches tied in all the editions of IPL so far.
Here is the list of all the Super Overs played in IPL so far:
SUPER OVER No.1, KKR vs RR, Cape Town, 23rd April 2009
Yusuf Pathan was the hero for Rajasthan Royals
This happened to be the first tied game in IPL – the 10th match of the second season played in South Africa. The match was tied, with both teams scoring 150 runs. Kolkata needed 2 runs off the last ball but could score only one; the match was tied and super over was played to decide the winner.
Super Over

Kolkata Knight Riders
Chris Gayle, Brendon McCullum and Sourav Ganguly were the 3 designated batsmen for Kolkata.
Gayle and McCullum came to the crease first.
Kamran Khan was the bowler for Rajasthan.
Ball 1 – Kamran to Gayle - ONE Run
Ball 2 - Kamran to McCullum - ONE Run
Ball 3 - Kamran to Gayle - WIDE Ball
Ball 3 - Kamran to Gayle - FOUR Runs
Ball 4 - Kamran to Gayle - FOUR Runs
Ball 5 - Kamran to Gayle - FOUR Runs
Ball 6 – Kamran to Gayle - OUT
Royals needed 16 runs to win in the super over.
Rajasthan Royals
Yusuf Pathan, Dimitri Mascarenhas and Ravindra Jadeja were the designated batsmen for Rajasthan.
Pathan and Mascarenhas came to the crease.
Ajantha Mendis was the bowler for Kolkata.
Ball 1 – Mendis to Pathan - SIX Runs
Ball 2 - Mendis to Pathan - TWO Runs
Ball 3 – Mendis to Pathan - SIX Runs
Ball 4 - Mendis to Pathan - FOUR Runs
Yusuf won the game for the Royals and was the Man of the Match
SUPER OVER No.2, KXIP vs CSK, Chennai, 21st March 2010
Yuvraj Singh hit a reverse sweep for four to win Punjab the match
The second tied game took place in the 16th match of the third season of IPL. The venue was MA Chidambaram Stadium and the teams were Chennai Super Kings and the Kings XI Punjab. The match was tied on the score of 136. CSK needed one run off last 2 balls, but Ashwin couldn’t score any run and the match was tied.
Super Over
Chennai Super Kings
Matthew Hayden, Albie Morkel and Suresh Raina were the designated batsmen for Chennai.
Morkel and Hayden came to the crease.
Rusty Theron was the bowler for Punjab.
Ball 1 - Theron to Morkel - ONE Run
Ball 2 - Theron to Hayden - OUT
Ball 3 - Theron to Raina - TWO Runs
Ball 4 - Theron to Raina - SIX  Runs
Ball 5 - Theron to Raina - OUT
Punjab needed 10 runs to win the game.
Kings XI Punjab
Mahela Jayawardene, Yuvraj Singh and Irfan Pathan were the designated batsmen for Punjab.
Mahela and Yuvi came to the crease.
Muttiah Muralitharan was the bowler for Chennai.
Ball 1 - Muralitharan to Jayawardene - SIX Runs
Ball 2 - Muralitharan to Jayawardene - OUT
Ball 3 - Muralitharan to Yuvraj - DOT Ball
Ball 4 - Muralithatan to Yuvraj - FOUR Runs
Punjab won the game and Rusty Theron was given the Man of the Match Award.
SUPER OVER No.3, SRH vs RCB, Hyderabad, 7th April 2013
Sunrisers Hyderabad prevailed over RCB in the 3rd tied match of IPL
After 2 tied matches in first 3 seasons, there was no match tied in the 4th and 5th seasons, but the 6th season just saw just 7 games before its first tied match. This time, another low scoring game was played between the new franchise Sunrisers Hyderabad and Royal Challengers Bangalore at Hyderabad. The match was tied on the score of 130 runs, when SRH required 2 runs off the last ball and could score only one run.
Super over
Sunrisers Hyderabad
Cameron White, Thisara Perera and Kumar Sangakkara were the designated batsmen for Hyderabad.
White and Perera came to the crease.
Vinay Kumar was the bowler for RCB.
Ball 1 - Vinay to Perera - NO Ball + ONE Run
Ball 1 - Vinay to White - ONE Run
Ball 2 - Vinay to Perera - ONE Run
Ball 3 - Vinay to White - SIX Runs
Ball 4 - Vinay to White - TWO Runs
Ball 5 - Vinay to White - SIX Runs
Ball 6 - Vinay to White - TWO Runs
Sunriseres managed 20 runs and set a target of 21 runs for the Royal Challengers.
Royal Challengers Bangalore
Chris Gayle, Virat Kohli and Moises Henriques were the designated batsmen for Bangalore.
Gayle and Kohli came to the crease.
Dale Steyn was the bowler for Hyderabad.
Ball 1 - Steyn to Gayle - TWO Runs
Ball 2 - Steyn to Gayle - ONE Run
Ball 3 - Steyn to Kohli - FOUR Runs
Ball 4 - Steyn to Kohli - ONE Run
Ball 5 - Steyn to Gayle - SIX Runs
Ball 6 - Steyn to Gayle – ONE Run
Challengers manage only 14 runs and Sunrisers won the match. Hanuma Vihari was the Man of the Match.

Tied Match No.4, RCB vs DD, Bangalore, 17th April 2013 

Only 4 matches tied in IPL History and 2 of them came in 2013. Daredevils managed to score 152 runs in the first inning, and RCB in return after a brisk batting by Kohli and AB de villiers, could manage only a tie. With 2 balls remaining off the last ball, Rampaul could score only a single.

Super Over  
Royal Challengers Bangalore

RCB were to bat first.

Chris Gayle, AB de Villiers and Virat Kohli were the selected batsmen.

Gayle and de Villiers on the crease.

Umesh Yadav, the bowler.

Ball 1  - Yadav to Gayle -  ONE Run

Ball 2 - Yadav to de Villiers - ONE Run

Ball 3 - Yadav to Gayle - ONE Run

Ball 4 - Yadav to de Villiers - Dot Ball

Ball 5 - Yadav to de Villiers - SIX Runs

Ball 6 - Yadav to de Villiers - SIX Runs

Royal Challengers scored 15 runs in the super over.
Daredevils needed 16 runs to win their first game in IPL.

Delhi Daredevils

Ben Rohrer, David Warner and Irfan Pathan were the assigned batsman to score those runs.
Rohrer and Warner on the crease.
Ravi Rampaul, the bowler.

Ball 1 - Rampaul to Warner - OUT

Ball 2 - Rampaul to Pathan - FOUR Runs

Ball 3 - Rampaul to Pathan - DOT Ball

Ball 4 - Rampaul to Pathan - SIX Runs

Ball 5 - Rampaul to Pathan - ONE Run

Ball 6 - Rampaul to Rohrer - OUT

Royal Challengers win the tied match in super over. Kohli was judged the Man of the Match.