Wednesday, 16 April 2014

IPL Stats and Records: IPL's First

Who faced the first ball in IPL ? Who took the first hat trick in IPL? Who bowled the first Maiden in IPL? Who faced the first free hit in IPL? Who bagged the first Golden Duck in IPL? 

How many do you remember?

Here is everything of that occurred very first in IPL History !!! 

(Note: Those which were achieved in the very first match are not mentioned with match numbers, others have the match number. And those which were not achieved in the first edition are mentioned with the year)

First Match - Kolkata Knight Riders vs Royal Challengers Bangalore 
First Venue - Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bangalore 
First Toss won - Royal Challengers Bangalore 


Brendon McCullum played an attacking innings in the very first match of  IPL  and scored 158*

First Run - Sourav Ganguly off the 1st ball in IPL, a Leg Bye

First Run by a Batsman - 4 by Brendon McCullum 
in the 8th delivery of the math (Before the first legal run, 3 extras were scored, 2 Leg Byes and 1 Wide) 

First Four - Brendon McCullum, 8th ball by  Zaheer Khan 

First Six - Brendon McCullum, 10th ball by Zaheer Khan 

First Batsman Dismissed - Sourav Ganguly
32nd ball by Zaheer Khan, caught by Jacques Kallis

First Duck - Balachandra Akhil
50th ball by Ajit Agarkar, caught by Ricky Ponting

First Golden Duck - Chaminda Vaas, MATCH No.4, DC vs KKR
Ball by Ajit Agarkar, caught by Sourav Ganguly 

First Free hit faced - Matthew Hayden, ball by Brett Lee, MATCH NO.2, CSK vs KXIP
First Batsman Caught - Sourav Ganguly, caught by Jacques Kallis 

First Batsman Bowled - Rahul Dravid, bowled by Ishant Sharma 

First Batsman Run Out - Ashley Noffke, run out by Ajit Agarkar/Wriddhiman Saha

First Batsman LBW - Mahendra Singh Dhoni, LBW by James Hopes, MATCH NO.2, CSK vs KXIP

First Batsman Stumped - Robin Uthappa, Stumped by Mark Boucher, MATCH NO.5, MI vs RCB 

First 50 - Brendon McCullum 
First 100 - Brendon McCullum 
First 150 - Brendon McCullum 


First Delivery - Praveen Kumar to Sourav Ganguly

First Wicket - Zaheer Khan, dismissed Sourav Ganguly 

First Maiden - Glenn McGrath, MATCH NO.3, DD vs RR

Glenn McGrath bowled the first Maiden Over in IPL 

First 3 wicket haul - Ajit Agarkar (3/25)

First 4 wicket haul - Glenn McGrath (4/29), MATCH NO.17, DD vs RCB

First 5 wicket haul - Sohail Tanvir  MATCH NO.24, RR vs CSK

First 6 wicket haul - Sohail Tanvir  MATCH NO.24. RR vs CSK 

First Hat Trick - Lakshmipathy Balaji. MATCH 31, CSK vs KXIP
Dimsissed  Irfan Pathan, Piyush Chawla and VRV Singh

First bowler to conceed 40 or more runs in a match - Ashley Noffke (40/1)
First bowler to conceed 50 or more runs in a match - James Hopes (53/1), MATCH NO.2, KXIP vs CSK
First bowler to conceed 60 or more runs in a match - Varun Aaron (63/2), Second Qualifier, DD vs CSK,2012 (He is the only bowler to conceed 60 or more runs in a match)

Only bowler in IPL to give away 60 or more runs in a match 

First Extra - Leg Bye by Praveen Kumar to Sourav Ganguly in first ball of the IPL 

First Wide - Praveen Kumar to Brendon McCullum 

First No Ball - Brett Lee to Matthew Hayden, in MATCH NO.2, KXIP vs CSK

First Byes - Jacqueus Kallis to Ricky Ponting


First 50 runs Partnership - Sourav Ganguly and Brendon McCullum 
Added 61 runs for the 1st wicket 

First 100 runs Partnership - Gautam Gambhir and Shikhar Dhawan, MATCH NO.3, DD vs RR
Added 112* runs for the 2nd wicket

First 150 runs Partnership - Adam Gilchrist and VVS Laxman, MATCH NO.14, DC vs MI 
Added 155* runs for the 1st wicket 

First 200 runs Partnership - Adam Gilchrist and Shaun Marsh, MATCH NO.63, KXIP vs RCB, 2011
Added 206 runs for the 2nd wicket 

Shaun Marsh and Adam Gilchrist were the first pair to add 200 runs in a partnership


First team to score 200 runs in a match - KKR vs RCB, KKR scored 222/3

First team to be dismissed in less than 100 in a match - RCB vs KKR, RCB dismissed for 82 (15.1)

First team to score over 200 runs while chasing - KXIP vs CSK, MATCH NO.2
CSK 240/5, KXIP 204/7

First team to chase a target of 150 or more - RR vs MI, MATCH NO.5 
MI 165/6, RCB 166/5 (19.4)

First tean to chase a target of 200 or more - RR vs DC, MATCH NO.9
DC 214/5, RR 217/7 (19.5)


First match to be tied - KKR vs RR, Cape Town, MATCH NO.10, 2009
RR 150/6, KKR 150/8. RR won by Super Over 

The first tied game in IPL, RR vs KKR. Yousuf Pathan blasted Mendis in Super Over 

First match won by 1 run - KXIP vs MI, MATCH NO. 45
KXIP set a target of 190 and MI Needed 19 from the last over and 2 runs of the last ball.

First match won by 2 wickets - RCB vs CSK, Durban, MATCH NO.44, 2009 (No team won a match by 1 wicket yet) 
CSK 129(19.4), RCB 132/8(19.4)

First match won by 10 wickets - DC vs MI, MATCH NO.14
MI 154/7, DC 155/0(12)

First match won by a team at the last ball while chasing - CSK VS DD, MATCH NO.28 
CSK chased down 188 with 15 needing of the last over and 1 run needed off of the last ball


First Catch - Jacques Kallis to dismiss Sourav Ganguly, KKR vs RCB

First Run Out - Ajith Agarkar/Wriddhiman Saha to dismiss Ashley Noffke, KKR vs RCB

First fielder to take 3 Catches in a match - Abhishek Nayar, MATCH NO.5, MI vs RCB

First fielder to take 4 Catches in a match - Sachin Tendulkar, MATCH No. 38, MI vs KKR


First Man of the Match - Brendon McCullum 

First Player of the Tournament - Shane Watson 

First Orange Cap - Shaun Marsh 

First Purple Cap - Sohail Tanvir 

First Rising Start of the Tournament - Shreevats Goswamy (RCB) 

First Fair Play Award - Chennai Super Kings 

First IPL Champions - Rajasthan Royals